FACULTY RESEARCH & INTERESTS
 
Faculty Member   Research Description Areas of Research

Leon J. Carlock
313-577-1013
lcarlock@genetics.wayne.edu



Molecular neurobiology; Huntington disease; neuron-specific gene expression; demyelinating disease. Neurosciences

Erin Carmany, MS, CGC
313-577-9138
ecarmany@med.wayne.edu
Genetic counseling in the Spanish speaking population, alternative genetic counseling service models
Genetic counseling

Gerald Feldman
313-577-9139
gfeldman@med.wayne.edu
Use of molecular technologies in the diagnosis of genetic diseases, clinical genetics, and dysmorphology; educational programs in medical genetics residency training. Genetics
Genetics Counseling
Medical Genetics


Russell L. Finley, Jr.
313-577-7845
rfinley@wayne.edu

Regulatory networks that control cell proliferation; cell cycle regulation during development; high throughput technologies to study protein interaction networks. Cancer Biology
Cell & Molecular Biology
Developmental Biology Genetics.
Proteomics


Alexander Gow
313-577-9401
agow@med.wayne.edu
Role of unfolded protein response in neurodegenerative diseases; molecular characterization of the regulation of axoglial junction assembly in CNS myelin; molecular characterization of the claudin family of integral membrane tight junction proteins during development in brain, testes, and inner ear using transgenic and homologous recombination in embryonic stem cells. Cell & Molecualar Biology
Developmental Biology
Genomics
Medical Genetics
Neurosciences
Proteomics


Lawrence I. Grossman
313-577-5326
l.grossman@wayne.edu
Molecular Genetics and evolution of the electron transport chain; cytochrome c oxidase; mitochondria and mitochondrial diseases. Cell & Molecular Biology
Genetics
Genomics
Molecular Evolution
Neurosciences


Henry H.Q. Heng
313-577-9544
hheng@med.wayne.edu
Molecular cytogenetics; genome structure and function; genomic instability and cancer progression. Cancer Biology
Chromatin Structure & Function
Genomics


Maik Hüttemann
313-577-9150
maik@genetics.wayne.edu
Function of cytochrome c oxidase isoforms, oxygen sensing, and role of mitochondria in cancer. Cancer Biology
Cell & Molecular Biology
Developmental Biology Genetics
Medical genetics
Neurosciences
Proteomics


John A. Kamholz
313-577-0925
jkamholz@genetics.wayne.edu
Regulation of myelination; molecular pathophysiology of demyelinating disease. Neurosciences

Gregory Kapatos
313-577-5965
gkapato@med.wayne.edu
Cellular and molecular biology of monoamine neurotransmitter secreting neurons. Neurosciences

Stephen A. Krawetz
313-577-6770
steve@compbio.med.wayne.edu

Gene Therapy; control of development and differentiation; expression of connective tissue genes and genes controlling spermatogenesis; computer-assisted sequence analysis. Bioinformatics
Cell & Molecular Biology
Chromatin Structure & Function
Developmental Biology
Gene Therapy
Genetics
Genomics
Medical Genetics


Markku Kurkinen
313-577-1027
markku@genetics.wayne.edu

Extracellular matrix; metalloproteinases; gene regulation; development. Genetics

Wayne D. Lancaster
313-577-0028
lancaster@wayne.edu
Papillomaviruses: molecular biology, evolution, and role in human carcinogenesis; cancer cell genome instability; ovarian carcinogenesis. Cancer Biology
Cell & Molecular Biology
Medical Genetics


Susan Land
313-577-9605
sland@med.wayne.edu
Genomics Cancer Biology Genetics
Medical Genetics
Neurosciences


Li Li
313-577-8749
lili@med.wayne.edu
Gene regulation during cardiovascular and hematopoietic development. Cell & Molecular Biology
Developmental Biology


Leonard Lipovich
313-577-9683
llipovich@med.wayne.edu

 

Genomic complexity; bioinformatics and functional genomics of long noncoding-RNA transcripts; primate- specific genes; computing the genomic basis of species phenotypic uniqueness.

Bioinformatics
Genetics
Genomics


Francesca Luca
313-577-1152
fluca@wayne.edu
Functional and population genomics of intermediate phenotypes. Gene-environment interactions. Functional genomics, population genetics, bioinformatics, genetics.

Roger Pique-Regi
(313) 577-0719
rpiquere@med.wayne.edu
  
Computational methods and statistical models that integrate large datasets Bioinformatics

Fei Song
313-577-1375
fsong@med.wayne.edu
Immunomodulation, immunothereapy, molecular signal pathway and targeted therapeutics in human neurological disorder diseases including multiple sclerosis (MS) and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) as well as their animal models. Neurosciences
Medical Genetics
Cellular and Molecular Immunology


Michael Tainsky
313-578-4340
tainskym@karmanos.org
Cancer genetic studies of familial cancers to determine the inherited cancer genes, analyze the mechanism of their action, and factors affecting genetic penetrance of the cancer phenotype. Bioinformatics
cancer Biology
Cell & Molecualr Biology
Genetic Counseling
Genetics
Genomics
Proteomics



Angela M. Trepanier
313-577-3425
atrepani@med.wayne.edu
Educational programs in human genetics and genetic counseling; cancer genetics. Genetic Counseling
Medical Genetics


Jeffrey Tseng
313-577-0498
ytseng3@med.wayne.edu
Protein structure, function, classification and evolution;
Disease-associated non-synonymous single-nucleotide polymorphism;
Geometric matching techniques;
Geometric modeling and molecular simulation
Computational Structural Biology
Molecular Structural Evolution
Bioinformatics



Monica Uddin
313-577-3265
monica.uddin@wayne.edu

Monica Uddin, PhD Molecular underpinnings of commonly occurring mood-anxiety disorders, with a particular emphasis on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Bioinformatics
Genomics
Molecular genetics
Medical Genetics


Derek E. Wildman
313-577-1253
dwildman@genetics.wayne.edu
Molecular Evolution of Birth and Reproduction; Comparative Genomics; Aerobic Metabolism; Molecular Anthropology; Primate Evolution; Phylogeography; Mammalian Systematics. Bioinformatics
Developmental Biology
Genetics
Genomics
Molecular Evolution


Kezhong Zhang
313-577-2669
kzhang@med.wayne.edu
Intracellular stress signaling from the endoplasmic reticulum and mitochondria; unfolded protein response and inflammation in metabolic diseases. Cell and molecular Biology
Developmental Biology
Genetics
Immunology
Signal Transduction


Ren Zhang
313-577-0027
rzhang@med.wayne.edu
Obesity and diabetes;
the leptin signaling pathway and mechanisms of leptin resistance;
comparative genomics.
Molecular genetics

 
       
 

 

Go back